485 Milam Street Beaumont, Texas 77701
(409) 832.7757
(888) 667.5982
Misdemeanor Charges
Beaumont Misdemeanor Defense Lawyer

Beaumont Misdemeanor Defense Lawyer

Misdemeanor charges in Beaumont and Jefferson County can result in very serious penalties, including jail time, fines, driver’s license suspensions, probation and a criminal record.  Convictions for misdemeanor charges will result in a criminal record which can lead to an inability to pursue certain professional occupations, ineligibility for some state funded educational grants, scholarships and/or refusal to be admitted to certain college or graduate school programs.

If you have been charged with a misdemeanor crime in Beaumont, or any of it’s surrounding areas including Lumberton, Silsbee, Kountze Neederland, Port Neches, Port Arthur, Vidor, Orange, Sour Lake, Bridge City, Mauriceville, Little Cypress, Winnie, Crystal Beach, Sabine Pass or Galveston, contact the Law Offices of Galmor, Stovall & Gilthorpe immediately at (409) 832.7757 to discuss your case with one of Beaumont’s leading misdemeanor defense lawyers.

Felony vs. Misdemeanor Charges

Misdemeanor charges are generally considered less serious than felony crimes, and usually result in less severe penalties and repercussions. In most cases, a conviction for a felony charge is typically punishable by confinement in a state prison for a term greater than 1 year, while misdemeanor crimes are generally punishable by confinement in county jail for a term up to 1 year.

Additionally, fines for misdemeanor offenses are usually less than those issued for felony convictions. These general sentences can change however should the person be considered a habitual or repeat misdemeanor offender, who then can face more severe repercussions than those issued to first time offenders.

Classes of Misdemeanor

Texas law defines misdemeanor crimes as those criminal offenses less serious than a felony crime and are punishable by a term less than 1 year in jail. Texas Penal Code 12.03 defines the three classifications of misdemeanor charges in Beaumont.

The three classes of misdemeanor crimes in Beaumont vary depending on the seriousness of the offense and are listed from the least serious (Class C Misdemeanor), to the most serious (Class A Misdemeanor) as outlined below:

Class C Misdemeanor
Class B Misdemeanor
Class A Misdemeanor

Penalties For Misdemeanor Charges

Even though the Beaumont criminal justice system classifies misdemeanor offenses by various degrees, a Class C Misdemeanor is still a serious matter that should be handled by a skilled misdemeanor defense lawyer. Even the lowest class of misdemeanor crime (Class C) can stay on your criminal record for a long period of time and if resulting in a conviction might have to be disclosed on employment applications.

Class C MisdemeanorAccording to Texas Penal Code 12.23, an individual convicted of a Class C misdemeanor offense can face a fine not more than $500. This is the lowest level of offense in Texas, and is the default misdemeanor charged for unclassified misdemeanor offenses.
Class B MisdemeanorAccording to Texas Penal Code 12.22, an individual who is found guilty of a Class B misdemeanor offense can receive jail sentence up to 180 days and/or a fine up to $2,000.
Class A Misdemeanor According to Texas Penal Code 12.21, an individual who is adjudged guilty of a Class A misdemeanor offense can be sentenced to jail for up to one year and/or a fine not exceeding $4,000.
Contact the Law Firm of Galmor, Stovall & Gilthorpe today at (409) 832.7757 for a free consultation and give yourself the best possible chance at preventing your misdemeanor charge from turning into a conviction.

Sentencing For Habitual Offenders

Texas Penal Code 12.43 provides additional penalties regarding repeat or habitual misdemeanor offenders. A repeat or habitual misdemeanor offender is anyone who has a previous misdemeanor or felony conviction. Repeat or habitual misdemeanor offenders may be subject to any of the following penalties:

An individual who is currently charged with a Class A misdemeanor offense and has a previous Class A misdemeanor or any felony conviction can face a fine up to $4,000 and/or a jail sentence ranging from 90 days to one year.
An individual who is currently charged with a Class B misdemeanor offense that has a previous Class A misdemeanor, Class B misdemeanor or any felony offense can be punished by a fine up to $2,000 and/or a jail sentence ranging from 30 days to 180 days.
An individual who is currently charged with a Class C misdemeanor disorderly conduct or public intoxication offense that has been convicted of any of those offenses three times within 24 months of each offense can face a fine up to $2,000 and/or a jail sentence up to 180 days.